Brand Apple: Is love really blind?

I love Apple. I love Steve Jobs. I love their advertising. I love their arrogance. I love their products. Infact the love stretches beyond just products. It extends into inspiration, unconditional love… ummm a religion? Saatchi & Saatchi refers to this phenomenon as Lovemarks.

Strangely, while the above is somehow far more intangible in the buying decision making process, the far more tangible aspects like ‘consumer reviews’ fail to soften the purchase motivations.

Recently, while surfing Apple’s online catalog, I read some fairly negative consumer feedback about the Apple Mighty Mouse.

Suddenly, I took notice, but I didn’t defer my purchase. Primarily because of the following reasons:

  • The fact that Apple had the arrogance, courage, confidence and the transparency to showcase the negative comments worked for me, and somehow fit the current brand image in my mind
  • the Lovemark,
  • And lastly the amazing product that Mighty Mouse is in the first place.

Whats leaves me gasping for answers is whether all the consumer mass that is enamoured by a brand ready to ignore the user feedback and go on to pay a premium for products (read brands)? If it does, then whole a lot of things work – Super Bowl (1984 Think Different Ad) as media (remember, White Colour, Fruit-led brand names, and some great advertising.

Apple Store Reviews by Customers

3 Comments »

  1. Hello i love apple too very much hakumichi. theyre hichika cool in japanese. my blog .apple-mekolin.blogspot.com. leave a coment. Hokidih

  2. […] – Venture Capital RantsVenture Cap TVMohak’s observations […]

  3. My Story said

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just too great. I really like what you have got here, certainly like what
    you are stating and the way in which through which you assert it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of
    to stay it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you.
    That is actually a wonderful web site.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

